Kathmandu- Coldplay was formed between 1996 and 1998 at University College London. The founding members Chris Martin and Jonny Buckland met each other during their first week of school. For the rest of that year, the two began plans to start their band which initially called The Pectoralz.

Chris Martin recently shocked Coldplay fans when he revealed the band plans to stop making new music within the next three years. With nine albums already under their belt, Coldplay is almost ready to focus solely on touring their extensive catalog.

Coldplay frontman Chris Martin has said that the band will stop recording new music in 2025. The 44-year-old musician made the revelation during an appearance on BBC Radio 2’s special broadcast.
Our last proper record will come out in 2025, and after that I think we will only tour,” Martin said. “And maybe we’ll do some collaborative things but the Coldplay catalogue, as it were, finishes then,” he added.

Martin leads the band which also includes Jonny Buckland, Guy Berryman and Will Champion. Coldplay released their ninth album, ‘Music of the Spheres’, in October this year. The band is set to embark on a global tour next year.
At the time of the album’s release, Martin had said that the band might stop after releasing three more albums. “This is not a joke, this is true. I think after 12 that will be the end of our catalogue, but I think we will always want to play live together,” Martin told Absolute Radio.
So, I think in the way that the (Rolling) Stones do, it will be so cool if we can still be touring in our late 70s. That will be wonderful if anybody wants to come,” he added.

Coldplay’s first album was 2000’s ‘Parachutes’, followed by ‘A Rush of Blood to the Head’ (2002), ‘X&Y’ (2005), ‘Viva la Vida’ (2008), ‘Mylo Xyloto’ (2011), ‘Ghost Stories’ (2014), ‘A Head Full of Dreams’ (2015), ‘Everyday Life’ (2019) and ‘Music of the Spheres’.