PANTERA will release a 20th-anniversary edition of its final album, “Reinventing The Steel“, on September 18. Bassist Rex Brown confirmed the release date for the “Reinventing” reissue in an interview last Friday (July 24) with SiriusXM’s “Debatable“, where he discussed the 30th anniversary of PANTERA‘s “Cowboys From Hell” LP.

Reinventing the Steel is the ninth and final studio album by American heavy metal band Pantera, released on March 21, 2000. Album was certified gold, peaking at No. 4 on the Billboard charts. Reinventing the Steel contains lyrics mostly about the band itself.  “We’ll Grind That Axe for a Long Time” (where the band members tell about how they have kept it true throughout the years, while many of their peers sucked up for the fame) and “I’ll Cast a Shadow” (about Pantera’s influence on the genre). There are also songs about their fans, like “Goddamn Electric” and “You’ve Got to Belong to It“. “Goddamn Electric” mentions Black Sabbath and Slayer, two of the Pantera‘s main influences. The band members dedicated Reinventing the Steel to their fans, who they viewed as their “brothers and sisters”.


  1. “Hellbound”
  2. “Goddamn Electric”
  3. “Yesterday Don’t Mean Shit”
  4. “You’ve Got to Belong to It”
  5. “Revolution Is My Name”
  6. “Death Rattle”
  7. “We’ll Grind That Axe for a Long Time”
  8. “Uplift”
  9. “It Makes Them Disappear”
  10. “I’ll Cast a Shadow”