Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor will release the first music from his debut solo album on Wednesday, July 29. The singer, who is also the frontman for Stone Sour, recorded the album with his solo band consisting of Jason Christopher (bass), Dustin Schoenhofer (drums), and Zach Throne and Christian Martucci (guitar).

Taylor first revealed the project last year. Talking with Halestorm’s Lzzy Hale on her “Raise Your Horns” show on the We Are Hear podcast, Taylor excitedly shared that he had about 25 songs recorded.

Back in November, he shared that he had a similar number written, but now he’s that much closer to a release. “All the songs are things that I’ve written over the years but they didn’t really fit with either band. So it’s the stuff that I’ve just kind of been sitting on,” he said. “And I’ve been kind of talking about doing a solo album anyway, and I was just, like, ‘This is the perfect time to do it.'”

Taylor also reveals that rather than launch a single track from the album to announce its release, he’s planning on sharing two songs.
He explains: “The overall vibe of this album is ‘fun.’ You put this on when you want to feel good. There are two songs we’re thinking of releasing at the same time.